Today I put down roots

For the first time, I put down roots. This was expressed through the purchase of a filing cabinet! The filing cabinet was an upgrade from the holdall on wheels we’ve been using for a few years because we move house so often.

Today I put down roots and bought a filing cabinet.

A cute thing, adorable in fact, which locks and it petite and fits in the space I have in mind.

Isn’t it preeeettttyyyyyy.

 

We move house every couple of years and furniture is so heavy.

Today I realised I hire people to move house for me.

My mind moved from fear about having to do it myself again, to comfort that it’s ok and I don’t have to anymore.

 

I’ve been avoiding buying this filing cabinet for 13 years because I genuinely have a personal paperwork phobia.

Business paperwork is easy peasy and an absolute pleasure.  Weird, eh.

 

Historically my paperwork system was a mess, all over the house in every drawer and box.  I had no system, I had no peace of mind on the subject, needing to find something was a mammoth task.  In recent years I’ve been using a holdall as a filing cabinet, a really big holdall, because it is squishy and on wheels so is portable.  I have whittled down the process of moving correspondence from the letterbox to “the system”.

 

All bills are scheduled immediately and filed away, the things that I can’t face go in to the box, which is then hidden in the cabinet, which is behind the sofa, and things I really can’t face, which are scary, go behind the mirror for a couple of days until I pluck up the courage to face the contents, normally after letting out some kind of primeval yell about how unfair everything is.

 

But today I said to myself, “I don’t move myself anymore, the movers move me and they are strong, so they won’t mind moving a filing cabinet, so decision made”.

 

The duffle bag has been a faithful friend, loyal, on hand, quite organised, but I can do better, and from this Saturday, I shall.

 

Author: Pollyanna Whyte

Single LDS Mormon Mum/Mom living in England. This is our blog on emotional health, fun, parenting, life, divorce, starting over, friends, family, church things, and budgeting. Stop by, tell us what you think, feel free to share (but credit the source please).

Leave a Reply

