Trump and the Grinch’s heart

I hope that the President Elect grows in to the role because he needs a lot of humbling and a lot of guidance in the mean time. A bully is predictable so we have that on our side.

cycle_of_abuse2.png

I really hope I am wrong.  Trump’s behaviour over the past 20 years has been odious, irresponsible and spiteful.  He has whipped a country in to a frenzy of pro-freedom and pro-curbing freedom in the name of freedom.  It has parallels in my life, I’ve seen this before and it is not a surprise.  However, as soon as a bully meets a real and true authority figure they cower and capitulate, whether that be a police officer arresting them for domestic or child abuse or whether that is having to sit in a room with the President of the USA who you have slandered for years and who is not smiling at you, same thing.  I wish more people knew about how the cycle of abuse works, I’ve included a simple graphic in this message.  This principle can be expressed on a micro or macro scale, in the life of one person or 50 million people.  Knowledge is power.  It helps us make informed decisions with a clearer understanding of what is happening.  It helps us hold the line.  I hope that the magnitude of the undertaking that Trump has just committed to for 4 years has a sobering effect on his behaviour and helps him mature as a human.  I’m not holding my breath, but someone recently commented that perhaps it is like the Grinch’s heart which grew 3 sizes.  Historically, Trump has run away from consequences by slandering his mistresses or yelling at opponents or bankrupting businesses and defaulting on payments to the contractors.  He cannot run away from the consequences of his actions over the next 4 years.  So long as there is not a world war or a world recession, me and mine should be fine, and we will stand up for those who may or may not experience their rights being eroded, whether that be LGBTQ+ or women’s health or Xenophobia or racism.  I’m here, little ol’ me, and I will support good efforts and hold the line against anything to the contrary.  Time to re-up my Amnesty International membership, I feel.

Author: Pollyanna Whyte

Single LDS Mormon Mum/Mom living in England. This is our blog on emotional health, fun, parenting, life, divorce, starting over, friends, family, church things, and budgeting. Stop by, tell us what you think, feel free to share (but credit the source please).

Leave a Reply

