Prepping Made Easy, Next Steps

Time to inventory what we have and plan for what we need for a one month supply. Just payday to payday.

I wrote recently about how a water outage inspired me to get back on the preparedness horse.  It’s been a week or so since I last did anything that would count as productive in this arena so tonight is the night.

I’ve just been paid.  I have to do a grocery shop this weekend.  Now would be a good time to find out what I have vs. what I need to be ready for a month – excluding Fresh Fruit and Vegetables.  In case of Emergency, I figure we can deal with Scurvy as a secondary concern!

So tonight I shall INVENTORY our foodstuffs.

Then I shall knock up a quick meals plan and see if we would have the required ingredients to meet that.

Whatever I don’t have which could be bought in one shop is what I need immediately.

If they have BOGOF (buy one, get one free) sales on the products I’ve identified as being a requirement, I shall pick up the spare and put it in the “storage” section.

I’ll also pick up a few bottles of water and set them to the side.  I have water purification tablets now, but if you have no water it’s difficult to purify anything! 🙂

I have a tiny kitchen with only two small cupboards for storing food and cooking implements.  I’ve been keeping an eye on “dead spaces” as I’ve been walking around our house and I have found a lot of places that with minor and reversible tweaks, because it’s a rental, we can have places to put and easily rotate our provisions while keeping them out of sight.

I’m getting excited.  Can you tell?

 

Author: Pollyanna Whyte

Single LDS Mormon Mum/Mom living in England. This is our blog on emotional health, fun, parenting, life, divorce, starting over, friends, family, church things, and budgeting. Stop by, tell us what you think, feel free to share (but credit the source please).

Leave a Reply

