Booked a haircut

Booked a haircut, a rare and luxurious treat for myself… to go from birds nest to swishy.

Mundane to some, a luxury to me.  I booked a haircut.  I have long hair – almost waist length – because it is quick, easy and cheap to care for.  I’m pretty lucky that it looks flipping awesome most days – but that is partly genetics and partly chance.

Being a single parent house (sorry family in London – no offence) with no backup means that most of my attention goes on earning the resources to keep us housed or fixing something to do with the kiddo or just being with a few friends for an hour or so once a week.  I forget to look after myself apart from daily routine stuff unless I put it in the diary.

But I justified a proper haircut to myself when getting ready for work yesterday when while brushing, some hair broke.  Hair breakage – for the uninitiated – is a cardinal sin, an absolute no no, a Malcolm X By Any Means Necessary event to keep that from happening again.

It is like a car, it is easier to maintain good working order via a little care and attention in checking the oil, water, coolant, tyres, plugs and leads periodically than it is to attend to those things during a breakdown at the side of the motorway on a dark winters evening.

So, I called my hairdresser, booked the appointment for a week and a half hence, and am actually looking forward to the experience.  An hour out for 4 months easy maintenance is a no brainer really.

I always feel swishy after a good haircut.  I really shouldn’t put it off so often.  My hairdresser is talented, quick, nice and no nonsense… all the attributes I value in a service provider.  I should really diarise the next haircut now, save all this faffing next time.  I may well do that.

On a side note, my boss’s favourite joke is thus:

“I once dated a woman with long hair all down her back….. and some on her head too”… then he chortles himself into dizziness and that makes me laugh out loud every time.

Author: Pollyanna Whyte

Single LDS Mormon Mum/Mom living in England. This is our blog on emotional health, fun, parenting, life, divorce, starting over, friends, family, church things, and budgeting. Stop by, tell us what you think, feel free to share (but credit the source please).

Leave a Reply

