Divorce, haven’t seen the house I bought.

Divorce settlement house, I haven’t seen the house in 4 years… what kind of twit does that?! Buys a house unseen?!

It occurred to me last night, I am buying a house sight unseen.  I won’t see it until we complete and exchange and all the money goes through and I get the keys.  I haven’t seen the house since March 2013.  There is a no sabotage clause in the court documents which I expect Mr Pollyanna to honour…. but who buys a house without seeing it?!

I don’t know the condition of the plumbing, electrics, boiler, whether we still have a conservatory, whether the bathroom or kitchen needs replacing, whether I need to re-carpet throughout, whether the bathroom is still downstairs, the condition of the flooring and walls and whether it needs replastering throughout, whether we still have that awful woodchip wallpaper in the hallway because it was just too much of a bugbear to get rid of it, I don’t even know if Mr P repaired the splintered original floorboard in the living room.

I don’t know whether the garden lawn has been mowed in the past 4 years, whether the hedges are in good condition, whether we still have a large raised deck out the back of the house, do we still have fireplaces, whether there are still garden storage sheds, whether we still have a driveway for 3 cars, is it still gravel or was it paved, whether on day one I will need to buy and install all new window blinds and curtains, whether I need to take lightbulbs for everything.

So, I think I will buy house insurance effective immediately upon receipt of the deeds, have the locksmith do their thing on day 1, delay the moving in for a few days, have time to review the situation, get gas and electricity safety checks done, get a plumber to check for loosened connections, give the carpet a chance to grow any planted grass seeds, give the curtain poles and heaters time to reveal any of their potential raw fish squatters, and then move in.

Probability is that everything will run smoothly but I am walking in to this absolutely blind.  It seems to be the theme for my whole life, to just go for it, see what happens, fix what needs fixing, deal with the problems and enjoy the fruits of our labour.

But what kind of an eejit does that?  (Eejit is Irish for idiot).

How many people can say that they bought a house which hadn’t been seen by themselves or anybody they trusted?  Eejit.  Very exciting times in the Casa Blanca.

Belated New Years Resolution, buy fewer houses sight unseen.  Should be easy to stick to that one.

 

Author: Pollyanna Whyte

Single LDS Mormon Mum/Mom living in England. This is our blog on emotional health, fun, parenting, life, divorce, starting over, friends, family, church things, and budgeting. Stop by, tell us what you think, feel free to share (but credit the source please).

Leave a Reply

