Bulb Shoots and Weeds

Gardening for a novice and a couple of life lessons. Learning what to keep and what to chuck.

In October I decided to plant flower bulbs in the somewhat large flower container in the front garden.  I figured I ought to live where I live and put up a picture or two and put something pretty in the ground for springtime, even if the house was a temporary-ish home.  I tried nesting.

It was a nice clear, crisp October day.  The flower box required repainting and re-nailing back together so I did that because it belonged to someone else and I had a duty of care.  I bought a tray of mixed bulbs from the DIY store and went for it.  I sorted similar looking ones into groups and then tried to arranged them on the soil in an attractive layout before planting.

Two days ago on a dark January night as I reversed the car out of the driveway to go to Young Women’s, I noticed in the beam of the headlights that the large flower trough had new green shoots in an attractive formation.  They’ve sprouted!  It made me smile so widely that Missy asked what was up and I pointed and smiled wider.  She felt the little woosh of happiness too. There may have been a little high-five thing going on for a moment.

This lends my thoughts to two things: living and weeding.

Living:At the time of planting the bulbs, I was already hoping that we may be gone before Spring if things went well, and we may not get the benefit of our labour.  I was going to leave a little note for the next tenants letting them know about the bin days, the electricity supplier and that they had flowers due to spring up in the flower box.  I decided to live where I was.  To embrace being where we were.  To leave things better than we found them – which happens to be my life personal ethos by which I try to live.  The fact that I am seeing some of the benefit so soon is a little boost and blessing but that hadn’t been the intention.  I like it though.

Weeding:  Now that we have some good things going on in the flowerbox, it is a little harder to tell what will be a flower and what is a weed and needs to be pulled.  I think, with my lack of experience in this field, that a little wait and see before I start accidentally pulling up the good shoots is prudent… by their fruits ye shall know them and all that.  Sometimes when we don’t quite know how things are shaping up it is prudent to wait and while and see how things start to develop.  Weeding, for the unfamiliar, is no exception.

In the mean time, I shall be happy that the little green patch is blossoming and I’ll remember to be glad that I put the effort in months ahead of the result.

 

 

Author: Pollyanna Whyte

Single LDS Mormon Mum/Mom living in England. This is our blog on emotional health, fun, parenting, life, divorce, starting over, friends, family, church things, and budgeting. Stop by, tell us what you think, feel free to share (but credit the source please).

Leave a Reply

