Straight woman in “comfortable shoes”

I wear comfortable shoes but fancy fella’s… it is a mismatch.

I like wearing comfortable shoes.  There, I said it!

I like wearing cargo shorts and t shirts and carrying a bookbag.

I prefer not to wear makeup, although do wear makeup for work, church and gatherings.

I scrub up well.

I am not slinky, I can’t get away with looking “cute” in my preferred outfits.

I haven’t looked cute since I was 4 years old.

I support liberal agenda’s on equality and have a right wing work ethic.

I have a sunny disposition with a serious foundation.

I choose to date fellas because I fancy fellas.

I am clear on who I fancy and who I don’t.

I don’t mind who other folks fancy in a consenting fashion.

However, how I prefer to dress throws a spanner in the works with regard to dating.

I look great in a dress, hubba hubba great.

I have no aversion to being ladylike.

My personal preference isn’t ladylike.

In mid-May I’ll be out of the excuse of still technically being married, the decree absolute will be through, I’ll be single again and won’t be able to use the instruction from my religion (don’t date until you are completely single, not during the divorce process) won’t be a shield anymore.

I don’t want to attract metalheads or lifestyle-out-of-workers.

So, I’m either inauthentic and get all gussied up or authentic and don’t date the people I like.

I have no solution to this quandary.

If you do, please feel free to share.

 

Author: Pollyanna Whyte

Single LDS Mormon Mum/Mom living in England. This is our blog on emotional health, fun, parenting, life, divorce, starting over, friends, family, church things, and budgeting. Stop by, tell us what you think, feel free to share (but credit the source please).

4 thoughts on “Straight woman in “comfortable shoes””

    1. That is indeed a very good point. I worry about the downtime, not being able to pull on comfy clothes and throw my hair in a bun at the weekend. Minor insecurities I guess. Either way it felt like false advertising 🙂

      Like

      1. Surely it’s only false advertising if you don’t then ever put your hair up in a bun again. If you still put it up though at weekends then where’s the harm? We only live once and we’re a long time dead and perhaps the next Mr Pollyanna is sitting at home thinking the same thing about himself. Not that I’m suggesting he’d put his hair up in a bun of course…unless he wants to 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

