Jamaica? No, she wanted to!

Using a little initiative and creative accounting, I booked a holiday to Jamaica for me and my daughter, Missy.  5* Platinum all inclusive resort in Negril at the Riu on the 7 mile beach.  Oh my gosh. It was gorgeous! I had forgotten how much fun it is possible to have in 7 days.
We had on previous visits climbed the waterfalls, fed crocodiles, visited the craft markets and bimbled around places of historical interest so this time was focused on visiting Missy’s grandparents who are themselves Jamaican and who live in the countryside here, and spending as much time on a sun lounger or participating in fun sports activities as possible. Transpires I am ace at relaxing. Who’d of thunk it?

Tuesday, I captained the water polo team to a 10-9 victory :). I don’t Captain sports!  I don’t even sports!  We made friends around the pool, danced our socks off by day and by night because who needs socks in this weather, attended the Moonlight Beach Party and danced on the beach by a huge bonfire,  ate Jamaican food, learned to unironically fist bump everyone who passes in the resort, tanned my tan-resistant legs, overcame my inhibitions about using phrases like No Problem, gwannnn, and yeah man while having lovely chats with the little lady, and managing to be proposed to by random strangers on Valentine’s Day.

Missy also had the opportunity to visit with grandparents practically every day and I accompanied her because roads are unsafe and I am overprotective! 50 mile round trips to the house and back were worth the trek.

I think this will likely be my last visit to the island which tugged at the old heart strings somewhat. Missy will be 18 in a couple of years and able to make her own way to see her folks should she choose to do so.  I laid to rest many memories such as getting hitched here and past family holidays. That part was emotional and tricky but with such lovely people around as the ones we found this week, it was made somewhat easier to shrug off the sad moments and face the joy of the moment.

When you’ve had a tricky day, I can highly recommend Captaining a winning water polo team for an hour. Nobody could feel anything but exuberant or exultant under those circumstances.

Author: Pollyanna Whyte

Single LDS Mormon Mum/Mom living in England. This is our blog on emotional health, fun, parenting, life, divorce, starting over, friends, family, church things, and budgeting. Stop by, tell us what you think, feel free to share (but credit the source please).

2 thoughts on “Jamaica? No, she wanted to!”

  1. I took up your advice and have been trying to organise a game of water polo for this evening. Most of my friends have blown me out stating that they don’t want to come because they know I don’t have real pool and that I’m trying to host the event in my bath again. Party poopers!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

