Mr P’s Dad laughed at his downfall

Got back this time last week from a visit to Mr P’s family in Jamaica… took Missy to see her grandparents.  They expressed much happiness at the idea of us visiting, they were joyful and eager for us to arrive and we were delighted to travel 4000 miles to see them.

What I wasn’t particularly expecting was so much unspoken support from Mr P Senior.  Oh that guy, my current Father In Law, is a delight.  He is smart, sharp as a tack and funny as heck.  He is the father of many grown children.  This is not his first rodeo.  He calls it like he sees it.

Missy mentioned in passing that she’s excited about moving house in Spring time so she can decorate her room and have friends stay and Senior hooted with happy laughter!  He hooted and clapped his hands.  He and I exchanged a quick glance, my glance was a raised eyebrows question and his was a confirmation, he winked at me, nodded and smiled!  Then he yelled happily to Missy in his booming and broad accented voice, “Good luck, my girl, I hope it is wonderful for you” .

Senior is fully aware that Mr P has to move out of the matrimonial home and he laughed!

I don’t think there have been surprises like that for me for ages.  I thought he’d be cross or upset with us, but he is joyful.

I love that old guy.  Long may he reign.

x

Author: Pollyanna Whyte

Single LDS Mormon Mum/Mom living in England. This is our blog on emotional health, fun, parenting, life, divorce, starting over, friends, family, church things, and budgeting. Stop by, tell us what you think, feel free to share (but credit the source please).

Leave a Reply

