Mark Thomas – The Red Shed Tour

Things sure do change quickly.  After a difficult weekend (someone reversed in to my car on Friday, feelings happened on Sunday… the less said the better!) we used the front row tickets we’d bought to watch a show by Mark Thomas, Comedian and Political Activist, at the Corby Cube Theatre on Tuesday night.  Me, Missy and Mel yomped off to the next town over to see one of my favourite broadcasters.  Credit to Mel and Missy, I pretty much coerced them into it but they were willing wingmen and had a great night in their own right.

The show was a delight, moving, funny as heck, and a tad inspirational.  It was a telling of how Mr Thomas went from being a student at a Uni oop norf to witnessing working folks who were under extreme duress during his student years and how that had a defining impact on his life which fuelled his passion for justice.

Phenomenal story telling – loved it.  We need to tell each other our stories, write them down, pass them along.  They’re important.

I was totally fan-girling through the show, I was excited before the show to see the show, I was happy during the show, and I was delighted after the show to meet the man himself in the bar during the book signing.  I tried to be cool.  I was not cool.  I smiled through the whole thing.  Uncool but I was happy.

I was seven kinds of happy that he stopped to chat with Missy, a poker faced teen, who stood by herself after the show waiting for us. He apparently talked about how happy he was she was there and they shared a little time together with him earnestly encouraging her in her pursuits, which he did just because he wanted to and not because there was anything in it for him. She hadn’t made a purchase, she was just waiting for the adults across the way and he stopped what he was doing to take time for her.  If I didn’t love his work before, I sure as heck do now.  It takes a village to raise a teen with a conscience and gumption and Mr Thomas just helped me raise my very tall kid for a few minutes.  How cool is that?!  A star chatting with my kid about how happy they were for her to be there!

Great night out.  If you love brilliant storytelling and laughter check out his tour which is coming to major UK cities over the Spring and Summer, Cardiff, London, Oop Norf, everywhere.  Go see it.  It’s great. (Mark Thomas Webpage)  and his twitter @markthomasinfo

(Photo credit to The Chester Chronicle)

 

 

Author: Pollyanna Whyte

Single LDS Mormon Mum/Mom living in England. This is our blog on emotional health, fun, parenting, life, divorce, starting over, friends, family, church things, and budgeting. Stop by, tell us what you think, feel free to share (but credit the source please).

Leave a Reply

