What do “Normal” people do?

I’m packing up our house one box at a time getting ready to move.  Once we’ve moved in and the internet service providers have done their thing and furniture is in situ and the lawn has been mowed and the hedge cut, and I have fixed all the fix-me’s, I don’t quite know what I will do with myself for the next 50 years.

Life will be settled for the first time.  Now THAT is daunting.

What do “normal” people do?  How do you all spend your time?  Finances are not unlimited so I cannot start joining a gazillion clubs… I am happily and contractually required to keep the teen happy and healthy.  But how do Normals who like me have a home and a nice friendship group, and a nice job and a lovely kid do with all of that copious spare time?

I don’t love gardening but I do love having a tidy home and green area.  I am more of a function over form girl.  I don’t like busywork just for the sake of it.  I disapprove of personally owning pets. 50 years is a long time to fill.

I may get all the way through Netflix with that amount of time on my hands.  Might start at one end of the Public Book Library and work my way through reading everything I can get my hands on.  Other than that, I’m out of ideas.  50 years, boy, that’s ages.

 

Author: Pollyanna Whyte

Single LDS Mormon Mum/Mom living in England. This is our blog on emotional health, fun, parenting, life, divorce, starting over, friends, family, church things, and budgeting. Stop by, tell us what you think, feel free to share (but credit the source please).

1 thought on “What do “Normal” people do?”

Leave a Reply

