To Gilet or not to Gilet. Packing the garage up.

Gilet’s and travelling light for a house move.

At the weekend I began packing up the house and garage even though we don’t yet have a move date. The early effort is because I always get a bit over tired pulling all nighters in the run up to a move and wanted to try a different approach this time. 

Part of the move is clearing and decluttering the garage. It is currently very well organised with all the encoutremonts required to keep a house running well. All kinds of garden implements and Weedkiller’s, all kinds of clothes racks and tool boxes and computer cables plus a couple of bikes and racking (sigh, such beautiful racking).   

Now, we travel pretty light for a 3 bed house.  I don’t try to carry spares of anything, I even only had 1 kid!!! (Joke).  For people who travel light we sure do have a lot of stuff.  I put myself to work for a few hours and now the garage is like a new pin, all shiny and inviting.  

I didn’t even have to buy a gilet, a sleeveless jacket. I was mulling over said purchase because it was too warm for a coat and not warm enough for just a jumper/sweater. I did not want to buy a gilet, they remind me of people dog walking so I picked up a boiler suit in dark blue instead and am delighted with the purchase.  Kept me warm, kept the spiders off, I didn’t mind it getting dusty and I felt totally competent and professional in that get up. Awesome. 

We have 4 bookcases. That should hopefully share what we think our priorities in life ought to be.  4 bookcases, one 32″ TV. A work friend shared once that rich families have libraries and studies and poor families have a media centre and that there is a very good reason for that. He also shared that a persons  TV should be no more than half the size of the bookcase.  It’s an adage I try to adhere to because it resonated with me as good sense ought to. 

Anyway, it takes a lot of ‘stuff’ to run a home, even a simplified one.  This week I have recycled 9 dustbin bags of items which are good but I don’t  want to carry to the new place. A full wheely bin of plastics from the shed. And a heap load of bags for the refuse centre. A car backseat of clothing for the drop off point. The garden furniture has been packed up for transportation. The chilli plants have been pruned ready for the spring growth. The solar lights have been de-strung to be re-strung in the new back garden. 

If this is us travelling light, how do people who travel heavy cope? All the sports kit and stuffed garage, the doubles and triples of everything, or their full up lofts.  How do they do it? 

A great deal is happening in the Whyte House.  I like it. 

Author: Pollyanna Whyte

Single LDS Mormon Mum/Mom living in England. This is our blog on emotional health, fun, parenting, life, divorce, starting over, friends, family, church things, and budgeting. Stop by, tell us what you think, feel free to share (but credit the source please).

Leave a Reply

