Brakes, a requirement?

When your brakes are being handed around to apprentices as a cautionary tale, there’s been a problem.

A squeaky sound began emanating from the wheel on the passenger side front wheel. So I asked the fellas at work to confirm my thinking that the brakes might need attention and they gave me 50 scenarios but the end result of their entertaining rambling was yes, it’s the brakes. So I booked an appointment at a garage for Saturday. The squeak worsened and the car started juddering. When I dropped the car at the garage they offered an estimate and started dismantling. Half hour later another call came through, “Mrs Pollyanna, there is no disc or pad, it is purely metal on metal, I am really glad you brought it in today”. So, double the estimate but still cheaper than buying a new clunker, the car is fixed, unsqueaky and back on the road. I have only had the car 9 months, it still has amother 3 months on the MOT, and had a full set of new tyres a couple of months ago. There should be a light on the dash to indicate problems. But still, all safe and legal. I am glad that I booked the appointment as soon as I realised there was a concern. See it, do it.

Author: Pollyanna Whyte

Single LDS Mormon Mum/Mom living in England. This is our blog on emotional health, fun, parenting, life, divorce, starting over, friends, family, church things, and budgeting. Stop by, tell us what you think, feel free to share (but credit the source please).

Leave a Reply

