The New Normal

Life is normal for the first time in 4 decades and I think I’m becoming a fan.

So much has changed and is changing for the better (knock on wood) that the ease of the transition has been a surprise.  Sure, I slogged my guts out for weeks straightening the houses – and dropped a dress size in the process thank you very much – and there is still a lot to do, there will always be a lot to do, but the new normal is starting to sink in and I think I like it.

I have a nomadic heart so the idea of staying put for the next 25 years was a huge adjustment.  It vexed me and demanded my emotional attention but the concern, and it was concern, is dissipating now.

We have painted walls and we have fresh, new carpet.  We have a place for almost everything but I know those places will be altered in due course, I still have to put up the blinds but that is much harder than it looks, particularly when you drill where the brackets should go only to find loo roll, toilet tissue paper, padding out the void behind the wallpaper!

But the house is pretty easy to live in.  Some houses work, others don’t.  Rentals generally don’t work unless you go for a fancy one.  Invariably they were purchased by the owner because they were cheap, and they were cheap because they are difficult to live in.  This one works.  According to Missy “the flow” is right which I think means how easy it is to move around a house and use the spaces available.

The problem I have is that there are too many kitchen cupboards and I keep forgetting where I put my items so I have to go on a cupboard opening hunt for the items I need every evening while I mutter “D’oh, for the love of Sundays!”.  I find it amusing.

When the summer comes I’ll empty and repair the sheds, decide what we are keeping and chucking or selling, jet wash and treat all the wood in the garden on the deck and the fences and sheds, I’ll get a new hatch put in to the loft with a pull down ladder to make access to the roofspace less arduous.

Actually, if I do the loft hatch first, all the bits laying around which don’t have a home yet can be put away and that’ll really break the back of finishing this thing.

It’s never going to be in Country Living or Homes & Gardens but I can Pinterest he heck out of this and make it work for us and be a cozy place to be when we don’t have to be somewhere else.

It’s normal now to drive through the neighbourhood, to say hi to the neighbours and stop to chat with them for a while.  They’re all lovely so far.  It’s normal to sit in the back garden in the sun and read a book for a few minutes when I get in from work, it’s normal to look out of the kitchen window while I do the washing up, it’s normal upon arriving home to call up the stairs to Missy who will almost invariably be in her room and ask her to come downstairs and pick up after herself.  I love that we’ve been there long enough for me to have made it untidy and tidied it up again.  I love declaring “This kitchen looks like a pig pit!!!” and quickly doing a couple of bits and it’s back to looking good again.

Life as such isn’t easy, we all still have to work hard to earn a crust, and we still have the chance to get involved with things which matter to us, and we still have friendships to maintain and enhance, and we have tired days and energetic days, it isn’t easy but it can be made easier than it would have been.

I don’t recall ever having had normal before, I think I’m becoming a fan.

Author: Pollyanna Whyte

Single LDS Mormon Mum/Mom living in England. This is our blog on emotional health, fun, parenting, life, divorce, starting over, friends, family, church things, and budgeting. Stop by, tell us what you think, feel free to share (but credit the source please).

Leave a Reply

